Caribou Releasing New Side-Project Daphni’s Songs On Compilation

Dan Snaith
You probably won’t remember that back in 2009 before Dan Snaith had released “Swim”, he talked about the change in the band’s music and about his new side-project Daphni. In the interview for Eyeweekly he said this about the project:

At the time, I was thinking that Caribou would continue being this kind of psychedelic-pop vehicle and Daphni would be more club-based music. Subsequent to that, the two streams have joined together more, so we’ll see what happens. I love that freedom in music.

Now almost a year and a half after the interview we can see what he is doing with the project. He put 5 of the Daphni songs on a Resident Advisor mix. The tracklisting for the mix is below and you can download it here.

Dan Snaith Resident Advisor Mix:
01. Barnt – What Is a Number, That a Man May Know It?
02. Daphni – Yes, I Know
03. The Jellies – Jive Baby on a Saturday Night
04. Hounds of Hat – Purple Stuff
05. Daphni – Deep Blue
06. Colored Mushroom & the Medicine Rocks – The Route to the Medicine Rocks
07. Daphni – Buck Dance
08. Harmonious Thelonious – “Verwobene Muziek
09. Harmonious Thelonious – Mokambo
10. Bakey Ustl – A Tender Place
11. Daphni – Scratch
12. DJ Elmoe – Whea Yo Ghost At, Whea Yo Dead Man
13. Daphni – Ye Ye
14. Kingdom – Fogs
15. [Voyager overdubs]
16. Lone – Angel Brain
17. Ricardo Villalobos – Peculiar
18. Charanjit Singh – Raga Malkauns
19. DJ Clap Pina – Unakunukulpan
20. Thomas Mapfumo – Shumba (Daphni Edit)
21. Edward Larry Gordon – All Pervading

Courtney Tidwell – Watusii (Daphni Remix):


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *