The Knife

The Knife Releasing Darwin-Inspired Opera Soundtrack

Just after posting earlier about the Knife regrouping to possibly record another album comes the news that the band will be releasing the soundtrack that they made for the opera titled Tomorrow, In A Year. The soundtrack was recorded in collartion with Mt. Sims and Planningtorock. It will be available digitally on February 9 and physically on March 1 worldwide and March 9 in the US. They are also giving away the 11-minute track ‘Colouring of Pigeons’. This is what Olof Dreijer of the Knife, had to say about the soundtrack:

At first it was very difficult as we really didn’t know anything about opera. We’d never been to one. I didn’t even know what the word libretto meant. But after some studying, and just getting used to opera’s essence of pretentious and dramatic gestures, I found that there is a lot to learn and play with. In fact, our ignorance gave us a positive respectless approach to making opera. It took me about a year to become emotionally moved by an opera singer and now I really do. I really like the basic theatrical values of opera and the easy way it brings forward a narrative. We’ve approached this before in the Knife but never in such a clear way.

You can see the tracklisting for the soundtrack below.

The Knife – Tomorrow, In A Year tracklisting:
CD 1:
01. Intro
02. Epochs
03. Geology
04. Upheaved
05 Minerals
06. Ebb Tide Explorer
07. Variation of Birds
08. Letter to Henslow
09. Schoal Swarm Orchestra

CD 2:
01. Annie’s Box
02. Tumult
03. Colouring of Pigeons
04. Seeds
05. Tomorrow in a Year
06. The Height of Summer
07. Annie’s Box (alternate vocal) (bonus track)

The Knife – Colouring of Pigeons (feat. Mt. Sims & Planningtorock) [Alt]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *