Bon Iver

Leaked: The Twilight Saga: New Moon Soundtrack

This was a very pleasant when it was found out that many indie artists were going to be featured on the soundtrack. Initial reports came saying Bon Iver and Thom Yorke had been signed to do it. Then some speculation with Grizzly Bear brought many to believe that it too good to be true. When the official announcement was released many were supposed pleased to find out others like Lykke Li, and St. Vincent going to also be featured. Now with its official release date of October 20 the soundtrack leaked and we can hear all 15 exclusive tracks for the release.
The soundtrack opens with its first single, Death Cab for Cutie’s ‘Meet Me On the Equinox’. It’s a bass heavy track with Ben Gibbard usual lyricism. The tracks were inspired by the books of the Twilight series and feature content that doesn’t directly refer to the characters in the movie. They speak of the love and longing to be with the one that you truly love even though it is not possible to do so. Thom Yorke’s contribution is a electronic piece ‘Hearing Damage’ about someone ignoring these bad signs that a person suffers from but does nothing because of the love that person has for them. Not a lot of instrumentation just keyboards and drums with a lot different sound effects put through at different times. Lykke Li’s track is very dreary with just a piano and background vocals. For a moment it seemed that I was listening to Interpol when then I checked and saw that The Killer’s had made this slow-tempo piano based tune, definitely one of the standout tracks on the soundtrack. Muse remixed a track from their latest album “The Resistance”, ‘I Belong To You’, for the soundtrack in order to give it some exclusive material. It picks up the tempo of the album which has been slow since the second track that was Band of Skulls contribution. In its usual fashion Bon Iver’s contributin features their acoustic sound and Justin Vernon’s vocals, but now with St. Vincent’s Annie Clark dueting with him on ‘Roslyn’. Grizzly Bear kill it with their track with Beach House’s Victoria Legrand. The only sad thing about the leak is the Lupe Fiasco and Amadou & Miriam track isn’t on it. You can buy the soundtrack here

Thom Yorke – Black Swan[zshare]
Bon Iver – The Park (Feist cover) [zshare]
Grizzly Bear – All We Ask[zshare]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *