Karen O

Leaked: Karen O and the Kids – Where the Wild Things Are Soundtrack

Karen O the vocalist for the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and her own project Native Korean Rock was put in charge to make the soundtrack for the Spike Jonze directed Where the Wild Things Are film adaptation. The mostly acoustic soundtrack features Karen O and kids singing songs for the and follow the story for the movie. This might be the movie studios idea to use this as the soundtrack with kids because the movie was pretty dark and Spike Jonze wa told to reshoot it. Karen O contacted a lot of people to help her with the soundtrack including Imaad Wasif, Brian Chase and Nick Zinner, Deerhunter’s Bradford Cox, Liars’ Aaron Hemphill, The Dead Weather’s Dean Fertita and The Raconteurs’ Jack Lawrence. She composed the whole soundtrack and it was co-produced with Tom Biller. The first single from the album ‘All Is Love’ is the second track on the album. Moving to ‘Capsize’ which mean sexactly what the title says. ‘Worried Shoes is a piano ballad with only Karen O and the keyboard later a marimba joins in. The album is all mostly acoustic and samples various lines from throughout the movie. ‘All is Love’ is reprised in the third to last track. You can buy the album here.

Native Korean Rock – Rapt [zshare]
*The Arcade Fire – Wake Up (Where the Wild Things Are Version) [zshare]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *