JP's Blog | Jónsi Wins Inaugural Nordic Music Prize JP's Blog

Jónsi Wins Inaugural Nordic Music Prize
Tuesday February 22nd 2011, 1:14 am
Filed under: Jónsi

Jónsi received the inaugural Nordic Music Prize yesterday for his 2010 release “Go”. It was his debut solo album, the other 11 nominees included Robyn’s “Body Talk”, First Aid Kit’s “The Big Black & the Blue”, Efterklang’s “Magic Chairs” and the Radio Dept.’s “Clinging To A Scheme”. The jury of the prize commented on choosing the winner:

”The music of the winner could only have been made here, in the North. It sounds and almost smells like Iceland. It’s brave and life affirming pop music that grabs you by the heart in flamboyant technicolour.”

You can see the full list of nominees below and Jonsi accepting the award below.

Nordic Music Prize Shortlist:
Dungen – Skit i allt
Paleface – Helsinki – Shangri-La
Susanne Sundfør – The Brothel
Robyn – Body talk
Efterklang – Magic Chairs
Serena Maneesh – S-M 2: Abyss in B Minor
The Radio Dept. – Clinging to a scheme
Ólöf Arnalds – Innundir skinni
Kvelertak – Kvelertak
First Aid Kit – The big black & the blue
Frisk Frugt – Dansktoppen møder Burkina Faso i det himmelblå rum hvor solen bor, suite.
Jonsi – Go

Jonsi – Time to Pretend (MGMT cover):

Related Posts with Thumbnails

No Comments so far
Leave a comment

Leave a comment
Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>